Colorado Snow!

Hi guys. Here’s another backdated post.

Back in college, one of my housemates was from Colorado, and every winter break, I would go to an LA beach, take a picture, and send it to her. But one winter break I visited her instead! This was the first time I’d ever been in more than an inch of snow, which was really exciting.

NOTE: I don’t have a lot of pictures from this trip, and most that I do have are drunk college pics. Also, I don’t remember what I did day by day, so this post won’t be like my others. Instead, I’ll just throw up some photographs and the whole thing will be pretty short.

Without further ado, here are some pictures from my trip!

Winter Break in Colorado (5)

In elementary school I learned that there are two types of trees: evergreen (trees that keep their leaves year-round) and deciduous (trees that lose their leaves in Autumn). Southern California has almost only has evergreens and up until this point my traveling had been in the summer only, so this was the first time I’d ever seen a deciduous tree. It was really exciting!

Winter Break in Colorado (26)

The main reason I came here (other than to visit my housemate and her family) was to experience snow. Real snow, not the less-than-an-inch stuff I’d visited before. To do this, we went to the Rockies.

Winter Break in Colorado (32)

Ice! Snow! A beautiful road! This is on the way to Rocky Mountain National Park.

Winter Break in Colorado (37)

The snow is knee high, that’s a lot of snow! The most I’d ever been in, that’s for sure. Also, at night on my trip, the temperature dropped down to 9°F, the first (and only) time I’d ever been in single-degree weather. I was rooting for the temperature to go negative, but it didn’t get that cold on my stay.

Winter Break in Colorado (20)

Wildlife in the mountains

Winter Break in Colorado (7)

The Stanley Hotel, located off Highway 34 on the way to Rocky Mountain National Park. Steven King and his wife once spent the night in room 217 here; they were literally the last guests to leave before the hotel closed for the season. According to Steven King, he had a nightmare the night he stayed here, and the whole experience served as inspiration for The Shining.

Winter Break in Colorado (15)

A frozen waterfall behind the hotel. There was actually water flowing under the ice in this waterfall; I’m not sure you can see it in this picture though.

Winter Break in Colorado (28)

Playing in the snow for the first time ever. I missed out in my childhood.

Alright, that’s all the pictures I have. I told you this would be short. Hope you enjoyed it!

co trip

A map of my trip. I flew into Denver, stayed with my housemate at her parents’ house in Loveland, and spent a day at The Stanley Hotel and in the Rocky Mountains. We didn’t make it all the way to Rocky Mountain National Park, which was disappointing since we were so close. But I got to play in snow, so the trip’s mission was accomplished!

Leave a Reply

